Awards Program

We’re excited to share the 2021 Together We Inspire Awards with you.

The Together We Inspire Awards recognise and reward staff and volunteers who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation and talent in their roles supporting education. Together we inspire and support all learners to succeed as connected, resilient, creative, curious thinkers.

These awards, an important initiative of the Department, would not be possible without the generous support of our major sponsor  Spirit Super, and partners Teachers Health and Telstra.

The list of finalists and winners are below. Please visit the program for bios on all of our 2021 finalists.

Together We Inspire Awards Finalists 2021

School Leadership Award

Cosgrove High School Leadership Team

Data Inquiry Learning Partnership

Meander Valley Cluster Principal Team

Engaging our Learners (Early Learning)

Ann Peiper – Burnie Library

Sarah Mitchell – Early Years Partnerships & Projects

Yvonne Fullbrook – East Tamar Primary School

Engaging our Learners (Primary)

East Derwent Primary Early Years Team

Loretta Brazendale – Burnie Library

Sarah Alway – West Launceston Primary School

Engaging our Learners (Secondary)

Derwent Collective

Kate Reynolds – Ulverstone Secondary College

Newstead College Learning Support Team

Engaging our Learners (Adults)

Andrea McMahon – Libraries Tasmania

Sally Stanley – Smithton Library

Sophie Flanagan – George Town Library

Outstanding Early Career Employee

Justin Graham – Flinders Island District High School

Louise Poeschla – Mountain Heights School

Michelle Walker – Smithton High School

Outstanding Support Award

Ben Nelan – Hobart College

COVID-19 Coordination Team – cross-divisional

Ulverstone Primary School EFAs

Teachers Health Wellbeing Award

English as Additional Language Team – Elizabeth College

GETI Student Experience Team

Karen Slade – Don College

Telstra Innovation in Technology

Katie Wightman – Kings Meadows High School

Rory Hamilton – Bruny Island District School

Virtual Learning Tasmania

Innovation in Literacy

Look Who’s Talking Team – Burnie Child and Family Learning Centre

Matthew Dawson – Hellyer College

Sandy Bay Infant School Literacy Team

Innovation in Numeracy

Forest Primary Numeracy Team

Princes Street Primary Mathematics Team

Riverside Primary Number Inquiry Team

Volunteers of the Year

Carol Murphy – Huonville Library

Cathy Cloudsdale – Longford Primary School

Linda Berry – Dodges Ferry Primary School

Past Winners and Finalists