Parents and Carers

The Department for Education, Children and Young People (DoE) is responsible for:

  • education from the early years to Year 12
  • Vocational Education and Training (VET) delivered through senior secondary schools (colleges)
  • Trade Training Centres
  • adult learning (Libraries Tasmania).

At the start of 2021, there were 195 Government schools across Tasmania.

Many secondary schools are now providing Years 11 and 12 as part of the Years 11 and 12 Extension Program. Students can undertake Years 11 and 12 at their local high school.

Teachers in Tasmanian Government schools are registered with the Tasmanian Teachers Registration Board.

Anyone who works or volunteers with children needs to apply for Registration to Work with Vulnerable People. They have to renew their registration every 3 years.

For more information and to register go to the Consumer, Building and Occupational Services website.

The public school system in Tasmania

The Tasmanian eSchool:

  • provides online education services for students who are unable to physically attend school
  • supervises Virtual Learning Tasmania (VLT) Years 11 and 12.