The Department for Education, Children and Young People is responsible for education from the early years to Year 12 and Vocational Education and Training (VET) delivered through senior secondary schools (colleges), Trade Training Centres as well as adult learning (Libraries Tasmania).

As at June 2017, there are 192 Tasmanian Government schools and eight senior secondary colleges grouped into two Learning Service areas: Northern and Southern regions, each managed by a General Manager.

A number of secondary schools are now providing Years 11 and 12 through the Years 11 and 12 Extension Program which is providing more choice to students undertaking Years 11 and 12 at their local high school.

The Department for Education, Children and Young People utilises its resources through Principals and school communities to lead school improvement and work with teachers to focus on the individual needs of learners.

Teachers in Tasmanian Government schools are required to be qualified of good character and registered with the Tasmanian Teachers Registration Board.

The Registration to Work with Vulnerable People Act 2013 requires persons undertaking work in a regulated activity to be registered every 3 years.

The process for the Registration to Work with Vulnerable People (RWVP) can be found online at the Department of Justice website.