Schools and Colleges

Rose Bay Secondary College - Woodwork classes

The Department for Education, Children and Young People (DoE) is responsible for education from the early years to Year 12 and Vocational Education and Training (VET) delivered through senior secondary schools (colleges), Trade Training Centres as well as adult learning (Libraries Tasmania).

As at June 2018, there are 196 Tasmanian Government Schools grouped into two Learning Service regions: Northern and Southern.

A number of secondary schools are now providing Years 11 and 12 through the Years 11 and 12 Extension Program which is providing more choice to students undertaking Years 11 and 12 at their local high school.

The Department for Education, Children and Young People utilises its resources through Principals and school communities to lead school improvement and work with teachers to focus on the individual needs of learners.

Teachers in Tasmanian Government schools are required to be qualified of good character, and registered with the Tasmanian Teachers Registration Board.

The Registration to Work with Vulnerable People (RWVP) Act 2013 requires persons undertaking work in a regulated activity to be registered every 3 years.

The registration process for the RWVP is available in the Department of Justice website.