Assessment Programs

Kindergarten Development Check (KDC)

The Kindergarten Development Check (KDC) is designed to assist teachers in the early identification of any Kindergarten student who is at risk of not achieving expected developmental outcomes and may require a specific intervention program and/or support from support personnel.

For further information on this program please contact your child’s school.

Progressive Achievement Tests (PAT)

Progressive Achievement Tests (PAT) have been developed by ACER to measure what students in Preparatory to Year 10 know, understand and are capable of, and to help monitor progress over time.

For further information on the assessment visit the Progressive Achievement Tests (PAT) website.

National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN)

The National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN) is an annual assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9, and has been undertaken by students across Australia since 2008 (excepting 2020 when it was cancelled due to implications of COVID 19).

The assessments are undertaken nationwide, every year in May.

NAPLAN is made up of tests in the four areas (or ‘domains’) of:

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Language Conventions (spelling, grammar and punctuation)
  • Numeracy

NAPLAN tests skills in literacy and numeracy that are developed over time, through the school curriculum.

From 2021, all Tasmanian students will participate in NAPLAN online in all four domains, with the exception of the Year 3 writing test which remains a paper test across Australia.

Further information is available from the National Assessment Program website.

The My School website provides further information with which schools and their communities can monitor their effectiveness.

Understanding NAPLAN Online

The following short video explains how NAPLAN Online tests work (select an arrow).

Online NAPLAN tests seek to increase engagement with students by providing questions that are suited to individual ability. Importantly, students will use a computer or device that they are familiar and comfortable with.

A public demonstration site is available where you and your child can view the sorts of ICT skills that are used in NAPLAN Online questions.

Visit ACARA’s NAPLAN website, particularly the frequently asked questions, to find out more about NAPLAN Online. Advice for parents and caregivers about NAPLAN in general is also available.

Getting Ready

Tasmanian school communities are centrally supported by the Department for Education, Children and Young People to administer NAPLAN online.

The Department for Education, Children and Young People also works with the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) to develop and share resources supporting all Tasmanian schools with the administration of the online assessment.

ACARA has responsibility for constructing all NAPLAN Online assessments.

Privacy Policies

Your personal information is protected:

NAP Sample Assessments

The NAP Sample Assessments test students’ skills and understanding in Science Literacy, Civics and Citizenship and Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Literacy.

Randomly selected groups of students in Years 6 and 10 participate in these sample assessments, which are held on a rolling three-yearly basis. NAP Sample Assessments began in 2003 with Science Literacy (NAP — SL), followed by Civics and Citizenship (NAP — CC) in 2004 and Information and Communication Technology Literacy (NAP — ICTL) in 2005.

Primary and secondary schools participating in the NAP Sample Assessments benefit in a number of ways. Their students have the opportunity to engage with state-of-the-art assessment materials, some of which are delivered online. This is an excellent learning opportunity for students.

Further information is available from:

Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA)

PISA is an international study which began in the year 2000 and is conducted every three years.  It aims to evaluate education systems worldwide by testing the skills and knowledge of samples of 15-year-old students in participating countries/economies.

Every PISA survey tests reading, mathematical and scientific literacy in terms of general competencies, that is, how well students can apply the knowledge and skills they have learned at school to real-life challenges. PISA does not test how well a student has mastered a school’s specific curriculum.

Further information is available from the PISA website.

Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS)

TIMSS conducts comprehensive state-of the-art assessments of mathematics and science for samples of students in Year 4 and Year 8, supported with extensive data about country, school, and classroom learning environments.  First conducted in 1995, TIMSS reports every four years on the achievement of fourth and eighth grade students. Australia has participated in all six cycles.

Further information is available from the TIMSS website.

Progress in International Reading Literacy Study (PIRLS)

Introduced in 2001, PIRLS is conducted every five years.  It measures progress in the reading achievement of students in their fourth year of schooling, as well as trends in the associated home and school contexts for learning to read.

Further information is available on the TIMSS & PIRLS International Study Center website.