National School Chaplaincy Program/National Student Wellbeing Program

The National School Chaplaincy Program/National Student Wellbeing Program (NSCP/NSWP) is an Australian Government-funded program to support the emotional wellbeing of students and the broader school community through the provision of pastoral care services in government, Catholic and independent schools.

The Australian Government funded the NSCP for the 2019 to 2022 school years.

The NSCP Project Agreement outlines the NSCP requirements and was signed by all states and territories. It is a requirement of the NSCP Project Agreement for Tasmania to establish a NSCP Cross Sector Panel to select and prioritise schools for funding.

The 2019-2022 NSCP had a greater focus on supporting students and school communities affected by cyberbullying. School chaplains were required to complete a cyberbullying professional learning package.

Throughout the 2023 school year, the NSCP will transition to the newly re-named National Student Wellbeing Program (NSWP).

The NSWP supports the wellbeing of students and school communities through pastoral care services and student support strategies.

Information on the National Student Wellbeing Program including how chaplains can register for the cyberbullying professional learning package is available from the Australian Government Department of Education website

More information on the NSWP can be found in the NSWP Federation Funding Agreement

The provision of chaplaincy services in Tasmanian Government Schools must meet the following requirements:

The Behaviour Standards and Code of Conduct for Chaplains in Tasmanian Government Schools applies to school chaplains while they are providing services in Tasmanian Government schools.

Further details on the Program are also available on the Department’s School Chaplaincy Carers and Parents Factsheet. 

From 2024, the new National Student Wellbeing Program (NSWP) will open up the former National School Chaplaincy Program (NSCP), giving schools the option to choose a qualified student wellbeing officer or chaplain.

For further queries around the NSCP in Tasmania please email

Tasmanian Government Schools – National School Chaplaincy Program 2022

  • Andrews Creek Primary School
  • Bagdad Primary School
  • Bayview Secondary College
  • Bellerive Primary School
  • Bothwell District High School
  • Brighton Primary School
  • Brooks High School
  • Burnie High School
  • Campbell Town District High School
  • Clarence High School
  • Clarendon Vale Primary School
  • Collinsvale Primary School
  • Cosgrove High School
  • Cressy District High School
  • Cygnet Primary School
  • Deloraine High School
  • Devonport High School
  • Devonport Primary School
  • Dodges Ferry Primary School
  • Don College
  • Dunalley Primary School
  • East Devonport Primary School
  • East Tamar Primary School
  • East Ulverstone Primary School
  • Edith Creek Primary School
  • Elizabeth College
  • Evandale Primary School
  • Exeter High School
  • Fairview Primary School
  • Forth Primary School
  • Geeveston Primary School
  • Glen Huon Primary School
  • Glenorchy Primary School
  • Goodwood Primary School
  • Hellyer College
  • Hobart City High School
  • Howrah Primary School
  • Huonville High School
  • Invermay Primary School
  • Jordan River Learning Federation – Senior School
  • Kempton Primary School
  • Kings Meadows High School
  • Latrobe High School
  • Latrobe Primary School
  • Lindisfarne North Primary School
  • Longford Primary School
  • Margate Primary School
  • Miandetta Primary School
  • Montello Primary School
  • Montrose Bay High School
  • Moonah Primary School
  • Mowbray Heights Primary School
  • New Norfolk High School
  • New Norfolk Primary School
  • Nixon Street Primary School
  • Ouse District School
  • Parklands High School
  • Penguin District School
  • Port Dalrymple School
  • Port Sorell Primary School
  • Prospect High School
  • Queechy High School
  • Ravenswood Heights Primary School
  • Reece High School
  • Riverside High School
  • Riverside Primary School
  • Rokeby Primary School
  • Romaine Park Primary School
  • Rose Bay High School
  • Rosetta Primary School
  • Scottsdale High School
  • Smithton High School
  • Smithton Primary School
  • Snug Primary School
  • Sorell School
  • South George Town Primary School
  • St Helens District High School
  • St Leonards Primary School
  • St Marys District School
  • Summerdale Primary School
  • Swansea Primary School
  • Tasman District School
  • Trevallyn Primary School
  • Ulverstone Primary School
  • Ulverstone Secondary College
  • Waverley Primary School
  • West Ulverstone Primary School
  • Westbury Primary School
  • Westerway Primary School
  • Windermere Primary School
  • Woodbridge School
  • Yolla District School

Tasmanian Catholic Schools – National School Chaplaincy Program 2022

  • Corpus Christi Catholic School
  • Dominic College
  • Holy Rosary Catholic School
  • Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
  • John Paul II Catholic School
  • Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School
  • Our Lady of Mercy Catholic School
  • Sacred Heart Catholic School Geeveston
  • Sacred Heart Catholic School Ulverstone
  • St Anthony’s Catholic School
  • St Brigid’s Catholic School New Norfolk
  • St Brigid’s Catholic School Wynyard
  • St Cuthbert’s Catholic School
  • St Finn Barr’s Catholic School
  • St James’ Catholic College
  • St John’s Catholic School
  • St Joseph’s Catholic School Rosebery
  • St Patrick’s Catholic School Latrobe
  • St Paul’s Catholic School
  • St Peter Chanel Catholic School
  • St Therese’s Catholic School
  • St Thomas More’s Catholic School
  • Star of the Sea Catholic College
  • Stella Maris Catholic School

Tasmanian Independent Schools – National School Chaplaincy Program 2022

  • Australian Christian College (Hobart, Launceston and Burnie Campuses)
  • Channel Christian School
  • Circular Head Christian School
  • Devonport Christian School
  • Emmanuel Christian School
  • Geneva Christian College
  • Hilliard Christian School
  • Launceston Christian School
  • Launceston Church Grammar School
  • Leighland Christian School (2 campuses)
  • Newstead Christian School
  • North West Christian School
  • Northern Christian School
  • Southern Christian College
  • Tarremah Steiner School
  • The Hutchins School