Key areas

There are four key curriculum frameworks used in Tasmanian public schools: 

These curriculum frameworks provide clarity on what learners need to know, understand and be able to do at each phase of schooling. 

Birth to Year 2 

The EYLF (PDF, 24.9MB) informs the work of all educators working with children from birth to Year 2. Educators use the principles, practices and outcomes to plan for children’s ongoing development and learning. 

Prep to Year 10 

Prep to Year 10 teachers are working with the Australian Curriculum Version 9.0.  

You can find out more about each of the learning areas on the Australian Curriculum website

Literacy and numeracy are an important priority across all areas of the curriculum. 

Senior Secondary 

The senior secondary curriculum contains 

VET courses are aligned with the Australian Qualifications Framework