Picture of Frank MacDonald, a young man in military uniform

Frank MacDonald MM – born in Ulverstone in 1896 – was Tasmania’s last World War I veteran and the last of the 40th Infantry Battalion raised in WWI. He was responsible for repairing signal lines between battalion headquarters and trenches and received the Military medal for working courageously under heavy fire. He also served in World War II and received the Legion of Honour in 1998. Frank MacDonald passed away on 23 August 2003 at the age of 107.

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize aims to commemorate and preserve the meaning of the ANZAC spirit in the Tasmanian community. The competition is open to all Tasmanian Year 9 students, as well as students who are undertaking home education at the same year level.

The Prize

Six Year 9 students are selected from around Tasmania to take part in the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize each year. As part of the prize students:

  • go on a 10-day study tour in April the following year (incorporating Anzac Day).
  • visit the Australian War Memorial in Canberra.
  • attend educational meetings held once a month in the lead up to the study tour (November to April).

The study tour will travel to sites and landmarks of wartime, in Belgium and France (subject to appropriate travel clearances and public health advice).  The group is led by a Tasmanian Government tour leader, and is accompanied by two teachers, a parliamentarian and an RSL representative. The State Government meet the cost of travel, transfers, travel insurance, accommodation, tour activities, and meals for each winner and the chaperones.

2025 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize Student Information & Cover Sheet (PDF, 628KB)

2025 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize Teacher Information & EOI Form (PDF, 617KB) 

How to Enter

Students respond to one of the research questions in either an essay or digital format.

Question 1

The Battle of Fromelles was a ‘spectacular defeat’. Why is it considered one of the most significant moments in Australia’s military history?

Question 2

Approximately 3000 Australian women served as nurses during WW1. What is the significance of their service?

Entry Formats

Essay: Maximum 1,500 words (not including references or quotes)

Digital, video or audio presentation: 10 minute maximum running time

Submit your presentation on a USB or provide a link to an online file. Entries other than essay format must be accompanied by a written statement of up to 500 words.

School students must submit their entry to their school.  Only three entries can be sent in from each school. If more than three entries are submitted, then the school will need to conduct its own selection process.

Check out the 2025 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize Student Information & Cover Sheet (PDF, 628KB) for more information about the prize and how to enter.

Entries for the 2025 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize close on Friday 9 August 2024.

For further information on the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize contact the Project Officer by phone (03) 6165 6196 or email learning.events@decyp.tas.gov.au

Chaperoning Teachers

Are you interested in becoming a chaperoning teacher?

Two teachers accompany and supervise the winning students during the course of the prize. Check out the 2025 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize Teacher Information & EOI Form (PDF, 617KB) for more information.

Teacher applications for this year had to be submitted to the Project Officer by Friday 9 August 2024.

Teachers who have previously travelled with the prize can apply again.

For further information please contact the Project Officer by email at learning.events@decyp.tas.gov.au

2024 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize recipients



  • Emma Cohen, Burnie High School
  • Sherri Rainbow, Scottsdale High School

RSL Tasmania Representative

  • Peter Williams, Launceston RSL

Parliamentary Representative

  • Luke Edmunds MLC

View the previous winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize.

Further information about the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize can be viewed on the Department of Premier and Cabinet website.