A high-quality early years Kindergarten program is vital for children’s learning, development and wellbeing.

The Tasmanian Quality Standards has been adapted from the National Quality Standard (NQS) and is a similar model implemented in Western Australian schools.

The TQSK promotes quality practices and continuous improvement through the 7 quality areas of the TQS. The quality areas are:

  1. Educational program and practice
  2. Children’s health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Governance and leadership

The purpose of the Tasmanian Quality Standards Kindergarten initiative is to:

  • improve educational and developmental outcomes for children
  • promote continuous improvement in teaching, leading and learning
  • improve the protection, safety and wellbeing of children
  • build on whole school quality improvement plans
  • develop a school wide culture of continuous improvement.


Tasmanian Quality Standards Kindergarten Guide and Reflection and Self-Assessment Tool have been developed to assist schools implement the TQSK initiative.

The TQSK Guide and Reflection and Self-Assessment Tool will assist Kindergarten teachers and school leaders to:

  • build an understanding of the Tasmanian Quality Standards
  • improve quality, teaching and learning in the early years.

For further information please contact the Early Learning Team  –

Early Years Learning Framework for Australia | Australian Children’s Education and Care Authority