This page provides an overview of the key curriculum frameworks used in Tasmanian public schools – Birth to Year 12.

There are four key curriculum frameworks used in Tasmanian public schools:

These curriculum frameworks provide clarity on what learners need to know, understand and be able to do at each phase of schooling.

Birth to Year 2

The EYLF informs the work of all educators working with children from birth to Year 2. Educators use the principles, practices and outcomes to plan for children’s ongoing development and learning.

Prep to Year 10

Prep to Year 10 teachers are working with the Australian Curriculum Version 8.4. Schools will begin working with the recently endorsed Version 9.0 from 2023.

You can find out more about each of the learning areas on the Australian Curriculum website.

Literacy and numeracy are an important priority across all areas of the curriculum.

Senior Secondary

The senior secondary curriculum contains

VET courses are aligned with the Australian Qualifications Framework.

Key links for curriculum information:

The Department’s Quality Teaching Resources support a consistent approach to teaching. They identify evidence-based practices to support:

  • curriculum delivery
  • assessment design
  • pedagogical practices