Awards and Scholarships

Young Archies Awards

Based on the famous Archibald Prize, the Young Archies Awards is an annual portrait competition open to all students in Department for Education, Children and Young People schools and colleges.  

Awards are presented in year categories for the best portrait of a person created by a student during the 12 months before the closing date.  

Portraits can be in any 2D media, like a drawing, painting, or collage, and are of someone personally known to the student.  

Refer to the Young Archies Awards page for more information.

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is an essay-based competition which commemorates and preserves the meaning of the ANZAC spirit in the Tasmanian community.  The competition is open to all Tasmanian Year 9 students, as well as students who are undertaking home education at the same year level.

Six Year 9 students are selected from around Tasmania to take part in a 10-day Study Tour the following year, travelling to sites and landmarks of war time. The Study Tour is led by the Department of Communities Tasmania, and includes two teachers, a parliamentarian and a RSL representative.

For more information about this year’s competition visit the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize page.

Tasmanian Training Awards

The Tasmanian Training Awards are conducted annually by Skills Tasmania. The Awards recognise, reward and honour the achievements of apprentices, trainees and vocational students for their endeavours in gaining the highest standards of knowledge and skills within their industry.

They also recognise and honour the achievements of employers, small businesses and training organisations for their dedication to providing the highest quality training and improving the skills of the workforce in this State.

The Hardie Fellowships

Professor Hardie was appointed Dean of Education at the University of Tasmania in 1946 and remained there until his retirement in 1976. Following the death of Professor Hardie in 2002, a generous bequest of $7.5 million from his estate has enabled the establishment of a Hardie Fellowship Trust. This provides a number of teachers employed by the Department for Education, Children and Young People, Tasmania with the opportunity to undertake a period of research or study at an approved university in the United States of America (USA) each year.

2016-2017 Hardie Fellowship recipients:

  • Susan Bullen
  • Group 1: Sarah Geale and Darren Sangwell
  • Group 2: Joshua Dean and Mark Sivills

2015-2016 Hardie Fellowship recipients:

  • Group 1: Michael Davy and Andrew Harris
  • Group 2: Jan Hunt, Hayley Noonan, Adam Potito and Judy Travers
  • Group 3: Kelly Dyer, Duncan Groves and Natalie Odgers
  • Group 4: Jenny Dudgeon, Chloe Simons and Andrew Walsh.

2014-2015 Hardie Fellowship recipients:

  • Group 1: Judith Fahey, Debra Fisher, Trudy Pearce and Jarrod Williams
  • Group 2: Shane Frost, Jill Burrill, Monique Carter and Marcus Cramp
  • Group 3: Dane Hardy, Scott MacCrum, Hayley Noonan and Ben Wilson
  • Group 4: Marie Phillips, Phillipa Clymo, Neil Harris, Catharina Stam and Kenneth Price

Further Information

‘What Matters? Tasmania’ Writing Competition

‘What Matters?’ is a national writing competition run by the Whitlam Institute (within Western Sydney University).  It gives Years 5 to 12 students from around Australia the opportunity to write about what matters to them in society todayThis may mean considering the following questions:

  • What actions do you think should be taken to build a better society?
  • What would you change if you could?
  • What do you want other people to care about?

Students submit an original written work between 400-600 words in prose or poetry, fiction or non-fiction.  Tasmanian students who enter the national competition are automatically entered into ‘What Matters? Tasmania’. 

Like the national competition, prizes are awarded in four categories: Years 5/6, 7/8, 9/10 and 11/12. 

Visit the What Matters? Tasmania page for more information and to read winning entries from past years.